Location: Crowne Plaza Hotel, Auckland, New Zealand

Dates: 24 October, 2017, as 1 day workshop during IEEE eScience

Important Dates:

  • Submission of lightning talks and full papers: 30 June, 2017
  • Decisions announced: 18 August, 2017
  • WSSSPE5.2: 24 October, 2017


Submission types and formats:

  • Lightning talks: a short paper, up to 2 pages, that if accepted can be conveyed in a 5 to 7 minute talk.
  • Full paper: a long paper, up to 10 pages, that can be presented in a 15 minute talk.


Both types of talks may be based on novel or previously published work, present a position on what we can do to improve sustainable scientific software in the short term, or discuss experiences in sustainable scientific software, specifically discussing current practices and experiences and how they have been used to improve the quality of today’s research software and/or the experiences of its developers.


Submission process:

Authors are invited to submit using the IEEE 8.5 × 11 manuscript guidelines: double-column text using single-spaced 10 point font on 8.5 × 11 inch pages. Templates are available from http://www.ieee.org/conferences_events/conferences/publishing/templates.html.

Submissions should be made via https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=wssspe52.   

The proceedings of WSSSPE5.2 will be included in the eScience 2017 proceedings to be published by the IEEE Computer Society Press, USA and made available online through the IEEE Digital Library. As such, published papers will be subject to the copyright policy of the IEEE. For each paper selected for publication, at least one of the authors must hold a registration for the workshop, and must present the paper in person.

For any queries, please contact steve.androulakis@nectar.org.au


Preliminary Agenda

Session 1 (1 hour) – Facilitated session to meet and greet, to build community

Session 2 (2 hours) – Lightning talks and full papers


Session 3 (1 hour) –  Workshop addressing a specific  theme

Session 4 (1 hour) – Lightning talks and full papers (continued)

Session 5 (1 hour) – Community discussion on next steps


Organizing Committee:

  • Michelle Barker, Nectar (Australia)
  • Brian Corrie, NeSI (NZ)
  • Sandra Gesing, University of Notre Dame (USA)
  • Scott Henwood, CANARIE (Canada)
  • Daniel S. Katz, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (USA)
  • Steven Manos, University of Melbourne (Australia)
  • Aleksandra Pawlik, NeSI, (NZ)
  • Colin C. Venters, University of Huddersfield (UK)
  • Steve Androulakis, Australian National Data Service (ANDS)

Program Committee:

  • David Abramson, University of Queensland (Australia)
  • Stefanie Betz, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (Germany)
  • Matthias Book, University of Iceland (Iceland)
  • Ruzanna Chitchyan, University of Leicester (UK)
  • Sou-Cheng Terrya Choi, Illinois Institute of Technology (USA)
  • Paul Coddington, Nectar (Australia)
  • Anshu Dubey, Argonne National Laboratory (USA)
  • Hamish Holewa, Queensland Cyber Infrastructure Foundation (Australia)
  • Tamas Kiss, University of Westminster (UK)
  • Sedef Akinli Kocak, Ryerson University (Canada)
  • Lien Le, Research Data Services (Australia)
  • Andrew Lonie, University of Melbourne (Australia)
  • Robert H. McDonald, Indiana University (USA)
  • Glenn Moloney, Nectar (Australia)
  • Jarek Nabrzyski, University of Notre Dame (USA)
  • Kyle Niemeyer, Oregon State University (USA)
  • Silvia Olabarriaga, University of Amsterdam (Netherlands)
  • Morris Riedel, Juelich Supercomputing Centre (Germany)
  • Maria Spichkova, RMIT University (Australia)
  • Ewout van den Berg, IBM Watson (USA)